Chickadee’s Wishful Thinking

My husband isn’t the only one critiquing my slow knitting as of late.  My four-year old daughter Chickadee has joined the chorus of lament with a request of her own.

“Mom, you need to stop knitting those mittens.  I want you to knit me a Princess Twilight Sparkle costume.”

“Oh, you mean a dress for your pony?”

“No, I want to dress up like the pony.  I want the wings, the horn, the tail, the belly and [insert sing-songy voice] don’t forget the cutie mark!  And I want to walk like this [she gets on all fours], and I want to walk like this [she stands back up].”

Maybe she’ll settle for a sweater, if I can find the pattern.  Why oh why am I sucker for out-of-date knitting patterns?

My Little Pony Sweaters

What’s the most intriguing thing someone in your family has asked you to make for them? And… did you make it?

10 responses to “Chickadee’s Wishful Thinking

  1. My son announced to other people, during the month of October, that I would be knitting his spider costume for Halloween. That’s a lot of tubes to make and stuff. I had to let him know there was not enough time. (Really there will not be enough time for this kind of thing if I spent the rest of my life… Can you imagine? All that black yarn! So hard to see! And so many legs! I’d have a panic attack and I’m not even afraid of spiders).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just wonder because we are knitters that the kiddos equate knitting with making. Because it does seem pretty awesome that someone can turn string into a useful and lovable thing, like a hat or bunny, so why not spiders?

      You know Wren asked at bedtime to be a spider for costume day at school the next day. We did it, can you believe it? Sure, my husband was out four pairs of his dress black socks by midnight, but it was definitely worth it.

      Thankfully, not everything has to be knit.

      Like

Leave a comment