Knitting Knowledge

IMG_7237

These are roughly all of my knitting books.  I recently gave away one called Knitting with Balls, a knitting book for men.  It’s actually got a lot of gender-neutral projects like washcloths rags and cup beer bottle cozies, but I learned that one of my friend’s sons is a knitter so I thought the book was better off with him.

Of these books, I refer to Knitting Rules the most.  Stephanie Pearl-McPhee is just witty, smart and hilarious.  I think of her as the modern Elizabeth Zimmermann.  She talks about every possible knitted item and gives great reasons as to why you should knit them.  The compact size of the book also makes it easy to throw in my knitting bag on road trips.

10903308_1598999617002496_1948992819_n

I visited the local library on Friday to pick up some more knitting reference books.  I went with the girls, and my worst fear was realized.  They would NOT run in the same direction nor would they stop squealing.  So I grabbed four books off the shelf and checked out.  After getting home, I was able to assess what I had gotten.

I was least interested in The Handknitter’s Yarn Guide by Nikki Gabriel so I chose to read it first.  I wish the switch in categories were visibly marked rather than being only listed in the table of contents or typed in a small font up in the header.  The information provided for each type of yarn was not consistent.  It still ended up being more interesting than I originally thought.  I learned about yarn made from camels, corn and milk.  Also, I learned that rayon is considered a vegetable fiber even though it is manmade.

If there is a game of Trivial Pursuit:  Yarn, you’d want to read up on this in order to win.  By the end of the book, my eyes were glassy… right until I got to the reference pages.  Hello answers to my Master Hand Knitting Level I homework!  Well, at least answers to one of the questions.

I’ve read Knitting in Plain English before, but in my mind I can’t separate it from Maggie Righetti’s Sweater Design in Plain English so a refresher is needed.  Cast on, Bind Off was grabbed because it looked fundamental.  I want to review my fundamentals before I start my homework for the Master Hand Knitting program. Lastly, The Principles of Knitting looked like a textbook.  It is like an encyclopedia.  I am just glancing at it from time to time, but I can’t wait for a chance to sit down with it in detail.

IMG_7234

Not too long ago, I asked my husband to add two books to Amazon for his next order if he needed a price bump to get “free shipping.” I was excited to find them by my door this afternoon.  I’ve read both Finishing School by Deborah Newton and Knitter’s Almanac before so I knew I wanted them in my library.  As you can see by the photo, I’m not the only one excited to get my paws on them!

What knitting books would you recommend?  The kind that you’d never give away?

6 responses to “Knitting Knowledge

  1. I need to visit my local library too! I’ve never checked out knitting books before, only my fiction novels. I feel shame for not knowing where the nearest library even is…

    Like

    • I can’t imagine not knowing where the library is! I guess it’s the way my mum brought us up (and maybe also the fact she always seemed to work and volunteer at one wherever we lived). I hope you get the chance to check in on yours and find the treasures on the shelves there (and maybe even the duds, because then you’re grateful you didn’t spend any moola on those).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE knitters almanac. I just wanted to say that your library has a lot more knitting resources than mine–maybe I should be pointing this out to the library and not to you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

