Done: A Vest

screen-capture-2

I’m excited to mark off yet another item from my not-a-new-years-resolution to-knit list:  a fair isle stranded vest!

Ok, so, yes, originally I had determined to knit myself a Fair Isle vest.  Unfortunately, I could never settle on a vest pattern that I absolutely loved.  I spied a gorgeous one being made by Ysolda Teague, but she’s yet to publish her pattern.

I had to evaluate my reasons for wanting to knit a Fair Isle vest, from a technical view point.  I wanted to do some color work.  I wanted to learn how to steek.  I wanted something with a rounded, scoop neck.  Jared Flood’s Huxley pattern promised these three things.  So, while the Norwegian lice color work is not as intricate as Fair Isle, I decided that this would suffice.  The pattern is fairly simple so I figured if the fit was good, I could at some point insert my own fair isle patterns.

Even though I made several swatches to check gauge, I’m glad I went up a size to allow for positive ease.  The vest is more snug than I would like, but that is likely my fault.  As much as I would like to blame the chocolate for being so tasty, I must take full responsibility in that I am the one that chooses to eat it.  In another note, losing weight is a good incentive for a knitter:  less required yardage ($$$) and less time commitment.

screen-capture-3

It was fun to see this vest come together so quickly.  Seriously, it only took two and a half weeks to make.

The pattern was well written although there were a few points were I was directionally challenged unsure what “front left shoulder” meant.  If I were to make it again, I would add about two more inches to the height – just above the ribbing and before the shaping – because I am tall.  More notes can be found here on my Ravelry project page.

I’m excited to finish this post by letting you know that I’ve already made considerable progress on my next project:  socks!  Yes, socks with an S, or two, because it’s plural.

4 responses to “Done: A Vest

  1. Pingback: Turning Yarn into Ribbons: A Recap of My First County Fair Judging | Knit Me For a Loop·

  2. Pingback: Knitting Resolutions 2015: The Moment of Truth | Knit Me For a Loop·

Leave a Reply

