WIP: A Pair of Socks

I knew I wanted to learn how to make two socks at once, but first I had to determine the best way (for me) to tackle this.

One method is to knit two pairs of socks on double pointed needles (DPNs).  Yes, you read that right.  Two socks are knit at the same time via double knitting.  I have ample DPNs but I worried that this method might require more brain cells than I could spare.

A popular method called the Magic Loop uses one long circular needle.  Casting on for this method can be rather tricky or, in my case, impossible.  I did not a few years ago, and I did not again this year.

Do or do not, there is no try.

-Yoda

A similar method to the magic loop, one that I could wrap my brain around, uses two circular needles.  Once I discovered Cat Bordhi’s webpage and video tutorials, I knew I was on a good path.

On the first full day of my vacation in San Francisco, I spent some time going through the knitting books for sale at ImagiKnits.  They had Cat Bordhi’s booklet entitled Socks Soar on Circular Needles, but I decided to purchase Antje Gillingham’s Knitting More Circles around Socks which had more detailed photos for knitting socks cuff down and toe up.  I figured surely I could work with this.

A few days later, I was able to cast on the Woman’s Basic Toe-Up Sock pattern.  I fumbled quite a bit in remembering where I was in the series of increases let alone remembering which was Sock #1.  A stitch marker set me straight.  Because I wanted to use the sock weight yarn I had just purchased, and not the worsted weight which was recommended in the pattern, I found myself deviating from the pattern early on.

IMG_8857The medium size sock should have 44 stitches at the foot after the toe increases.  Mine has 52.

Because I realized I was entering into unknown territory due to the size of the sock, I decided to add some 2×2 ribbing on the top of the foot, just in case.

FullSizeRenderEverything was going smoothly.  (Yes, there will be an “until.”)  I knit the foot until the start of my ankle bone.  I revelled in the joy that I was able to put on my sock periodically.  I started the lower heel flap as I should.  I kept measuring and putting on the socks.  And then came the part where I was supposed to turn the heel.

The instructions on turning the heel are written for the specific stitch counts.  Hmm.

I’ve charted out the instructions for the short rows on every size, but I haven’t been able to understand it yet.  So this is where I’m at until I can figure out what to do next.

3 responses to “WIP: A Pair of Socks

  1. Hmm. Next time knit the size large with your skinny yarn. Or maybe, since you haven’t tried turning the page to see which stitch counts she uses in the size large, there isn’t a size large?

    Like

    • Yes, that’s the first idea I had. Unfortunately, the stitch count for a large sock is 48. What confuses me about her instructions for turning the heel is that the first two rows are identical across all the sizes. I don’t understand why it’s not centered. I think I may just have to add a lifeline and make a raw attempt (or three) at turning the heel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

