The Yoke’s on Me! (NaKniSweMo 2015 – Part 3)

Let’s do a quick recap on what a NaKniSweMo project is.

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is where authors challenge themselves to write a novel of 50,000 words within the thirty days which make up the month of November.  NaKniSweMo (National Knit a Sweater in a Month) is the knitter’s equivalent.  Knitters challenge themselves to knit a sweater consisting of at least 50,000 stitches.

I gave everyone else a five day head start into this month-long challenge to knit a sweater while I, first of all, determined I was going to knit a sweater, decided which sweater I was going to knit, and swatched for said sweater.  By swatching for the sweater, I of course mean that I went through the efforts of making a hat.

Here’s the hat with another one I finished recently:

IMG_4490

Hats are so much quicker than sweaters…

And here’s a picture of the NaKniSweMo sweater in its current state:

Shellseeker Yoke

A quick exercise in arithmetic shows I’ve knit roughly 12,000 stitches.  I’ve completed the yoke and I will separate the sleeves and body next.  I haven’t done the full math yet to determine how many stitches are in the Shellseeker sweater, because I’ve been busy knitting y’all, but I am under the assumption that it will qualify.  If it doesn’t, well then, the yoke’s on me… har har.

*ahem*

So I’ve already made two modifications to the sweater with another one planned for down the road.

The most obvious one is probably the broad section of red.  This makes for a French sailor shirt effect.  The truth is I only did this because I have so much red yarn compared to the other colors.

Secondly, I am using a different fiber than called for in the pattern.

I plan on going back to the neckline to add a little ribbing to stabilize the collar because wool tends to behave differently than cotton.  (And also because I’m not a huge fan of rolled brims.)

No matter how much I scrutinize a pattern, I always miss something obvious…  I clearly remember specifically omitting boat necklines in my search this one still came up!  Well, lucky for me, I guess because I am excited to wear this one next month!

– –

What element of a pattern is a deal breaker for you?  Or are you more forgiving of design elements?

4 responses to “The Yoke’s on Me! (NaKniSweMo 2015 – Part 3)

    • Yes, that would be a hard one to work around. It actually isn’t too terrible… You just can’t have any kids around. Not just because of the distraction but you wouldn’t want them to think its okay to cut into your knitting! 😬

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

