Done! Mittens

The cold weather snuck up on me… as usual.  Thankfully, it didn’t take long to knit up two pairs of mittens for the girls.  And just in time, too!

dsc_0242

dsc_0270

dsc_0239

I didn’t follow a pattern.  I just traced a hand as a template and used some math to figure it out on the fly.  I loosely based the color work on Chickadee’s mittens on my Raptured Hat pattern.    Wren’s mittens are more plain for now.  I think I want to embroider a flower on them, or perhaps do a duplicate stitch, but until I figure that out she’s been wearing them happily.

My husband, who requested a pair for himself last year, is starting to get jealous.  Unfortunately for him, he wants something a little more complicated.  Capped, fingertip-less gloves (as opposed to fingerless mittens).  I am still undecided on which pattern to use for him.  He wants it to match the fingering weight yarn I used for his Howlcat.  Since the yarn is variegated, I have been trying to find a pattern that is stranded to avoid any pooling.

Perhaps I’ll have to make him an original pair as well.

4 responses to “Done! Mittens

  1. Pingback: Designing… Is it something only designers can do? | Knit Me For a Loop·

  2. Pingback: Knitting Resolutions (2016): The Moment of Truth | Knit Me For a Loop·

Leave a Reply

