One Hyperspace Sock for Me & a Pattern Giveaway for You

As much as I wanted to use the fingering weight yarn for the child’s gansey, it refused to cooperate.  It was persnickety and frustratingly splitty.  Having cast on the project more than once, I decided to listen to the navy blue yarn.  It did not want to be a gansey.  The project was frogged, and the yarn was wound back into a ball.

About a month ago, I cast the same yarn back on the same needles.  I was mystified that it was cooperating… What parallel universe was I in?  The yarn was quite happy to be worked up as a sock.

If I put two picture of the same sock, inverted, side by side as such, perhaps it will give the illusion that I have completed a pair?

The pattern is Pineapple Bird Knits’ Hyperspace and is now available for purchase on Ravelry.  Since Christmas is upon us, I would like to gift the sock pattern to one of you!  All you have to do to be entered into the drawing is to comment below with your favorite book about outer space (fictional or otherwise) before 7:00 AM EST on December 23, 2016.  I will announce the winner shortly thereafter.  If you tell me why it’s your favorite book, I’ll enter your name into the drawing twice.  Please note, I will be gifting you the pattern through Ravelry so you will have to have an account with them.

Now to cast on that second sock.  🙂

9 responses to “One Hyperspace Sock for Me & a Pattern Giveaway for You

  1. “A Wrinkle in Time” is my most favorite book ever. I read it for the first time in elementary school. I loved that the children are smart and treated like they are competent. Other books I read always had the adults know everything and the kids needed their help to achieve whatever was required.

    Like

    • I have seen that book mentioned enough times now that it’s embarrassing for me to admit I haven’t read it. I will see about checking it out from my local library in the New Year. Thanks for the recommendation! And good luck with the drawing on Friday. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm, space book . . . I teach science fiction, so there are probably too many favorites to choose from 🙂 How about C.S. Lewis’ Out of the Silent Planet. I read it as a kid wanting to know more about the Lion/Witch/Wardrobe author and this book did not disappoint. I remember loving the scientist’s explorations of the planet and the way that everything was new and exciting and strange. I think that’s the same feeling I try to create for my students whenever I teach the sf class! LOVE your socks. That pattern is killer! ❤

    Like

    • I had no idea that’s what you taught! I guess I always thought it was fiber related. 😀 I enjoyed Out of the Silent Planet when I was much younger, too, and its sequel Perelandra. I never could get past the first few chapters of the third book in the trilogy (That Hideous Strength). I can’t wait for my girls to start reading these books on their own in a few years. We’re currently reading two chapters of The Little Prince every night and I’m impressed with how much they are retaining. Good luck with the drawing on Friday!

      Like

    • I remember fondly watching the NOVA television series with my dad before I was married (The Elegant Universe, if I am recalling correctly). I didn’t know there were also books. Which one in particular do you find fascinating?

      Like

    • Thanks to each of you for commenting. My apologies for posting the results later than I anticipated. We did select the winner this afternoon, shortly before our afternoon stroll. I look forward to revisiting this list when I’m ready to read a new scifi book. On to the results, starting with how the winner was selected. Everybody was assigned a number based on their comments. #s 1&2 went to nothingbutknit2, #3&4 went to knittingthestash and #5 went to tilda2. Then I had my husband pick a number at random. He chose #3! Knittingthestash, I’ll be contacting you on Ravelry shortly. Congratulations and a Merry Christmas to all!

      Like

  3. Thank you so much, Polly! These socks are so neat and I happen to be finishing another pair right now. . . So my needles are going to end free shortly. Happy holidays! And hooray for space books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

